Slice of Life in the City SOL# 2022 Day 22

Before my son and I attended a concert in The Duck Room of Blueberry Hill we wanted to find a place for dinner. Many restaurants had long wait times. We checked at Salt & Pork and they said maybe 15 minutes so we ask them to put us on the list. Some people were eating outside but it was after sundown and chilly. If they had heaters it might have been ok.

Our wait was not long and we’re seated inside where it was very cozy. The waiter brought water and ask what we wanted. I ordered half a salad & brisket. The waiter ask me if I wanted the brisket to be lean, fatty, or from the outside edges. OMG! I love the outside edges. That’s where the flavor is found.

When we get a toasted bbq sandwich at Wib’s in Jackson MO, I always order and pay a bit more for the Outside Combination. That means it is the tasty edges chopped and covered in pimento cheese, a bit of BBQ sauce then toasted to perfection. If I’m too late to order the Outside Combination because they are sold out, I order the toasted pimento cheese sandwich.

So, yes, please give me the outside edges.

The picture was taken after I gave my son one of the pieces of bbq! It was all I could do to eat the other slices. I left half of the half a salad.

If you look at the picture closer you may see some empty dishes. That was from the appetizer we shared. It was Toasted Raviolis with pimento cheese inside. They were amazing. I didn’t think to take a picture before we scarfed them up. The waiter said they were trying to decide if they should keep them as a menu item. Our vote was a resounding Yes!

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life in the City SOL# 2022 Day 22

  1. It sounds like a fun treat! I’m a vegetarian, so know nothing about different ways one can get brisket. I enjoyed reading your excitement about the outsides. 🙂 You made the whole meal sound delicious!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.