Slice of Life 2024

Day 9

Yesterday I got the long awaited fiber for internet installed! I signed up in August and thought I would also get TV. But when I visited the office last week, the gal told me they were doing away with television service in December and did not recommend I get hooked up for that. I was so ready to cancel my subscriptions with AT& T and DirectTV but that wasn’t about to happen.

The technician arrived and promptly drilled a hole in the outside wall, threaded the cable through to the house, hooked up my boosters, ran speed tests and everything was great. I can stream television. Then he left. I was so ready to cancel my subcriptions with AT& T and DirectTV but that wasn’t about to happen.

I logged on to my AT& T account to cancel the internet. Hmmm, it is cheaper to continue with the current plan instead of dropping the internet service. I was so ready to cancel my subcriptions with AT& T and DirectTV but that wasn’t about to happen.

Then I tried logging on to my DirectTV account. Because I had logged on to AT&T first the website would not let me log on to the DirectTV account. I was so ready to cancel my subcriptions with AT& T and DirectTV but that wasn’t about to happen.

I went back to the Smart TV and began looking for a way to get local news and weather. No luck. So I went back to view DirectTV. Hmmm, I saw an error code. I called them and tried everything they suggested with no luck. They set me up with an appointment for a troubleshooter this morning. I was so ready to cancel my subcriptions with AT& T and DirectTV but that wasn’t about to happen.

This morning the technician showed up early! I told him about getting fiber hooked up yesterday and possibly caused an issue. He started there and sure enough found that the small DirectTV cable had been drilled through! He ask me how long I had been a subscriber and looked up my account. He said I had been a customer for more than 20 years! He said the equipment was outdated by five upgrades and would replace the dish along with the cable. I was so ready to cancel my subcriptions with AT& T and DirectTV but that wasn’t about to happen.

Two hours later he is still trying to find the issue…

4 thoughts on “Slice of Life 2024

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.